The election in 5 minutes: Who won, who lost and what’s next

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Combined ShapeCaption

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

For the most part, Tuesday’s election was the warmup for November.

Republicans chose their favorites in many races and Democrats did the same, setting up key battles between the winners in the November election. Tax levies were decided too. Here’s a quick recap (winners in bold).

Governor primaries

Incumbent Mike DeWine (48%) easily beat Jim Renacci (28%) and Joe Blystone (22%) in the Republican primary.

Ex-Dayton mayor Nan Whaley (65%) dominated ex-Cincinnati mayor John Cranley (35%) on the Democratic side.

That means DeWine and running mate Jon Husted face Whaley and Cheryl Stephens in a hugely Dayton-flavored governor’s race in November.

» REACTION: DeWine, Whaley win governor primaries

U.S. Senate primaries

JD Vance (32%), a Middletown native, comfortably beat out Josh Mandel and Matt Dolan (23-24%) plus four others in the Republican primary.

Tim Ryan (70%) won a Democratic primary that wasn’t close at all.

The winner of the Vance-Ryan November showdown will be only the second U.S. Senator from Ohio under the age of 50 in 75 years. Mike DeWine (narrowly) was the other.

» REACTION: Vance, Ryan win their U.S. Senate primary races in Ohio

Secretary of State

Incumbent Frank LaRose (65%) easily outdistanced John Adams of Sidney in the Republican primary.

LaRose will face Democrat Chelsea Clark, who ran unopposed, in the November election.

The Secretary of State is Ohio’s top elections official, a position that has been in the spotlight after the turmoil of the 2020 presidential race and the controversy over the redrawing of Ohio’s legislative districts.

» REACTION: LaRose wins Republican secretary of state primary

Other statewide races

In many races, only one Democrat and one Republican were on the ballot Tuesday, but those default winners will square off in crucial races come November.

The highest profile races are for three of the seven Ohio Supreme Court seats — races that will determine the partisan leaning of the court at a time when abortion and gerrymandering issues could be central. Ohioans will choose between Sharon Kennedy (R) and Jennifer Brunner (D) for chief justice and will decide two other court seats as well.

Republican incumbents are facing re-election challenges for state auditor, treasurer and attorney general, too.

U.S. Congress

⋅ 10th Congressional District: For Montgomery, Greene and part of Clark County, longtime political activist David Esrati won a fairly tight Democratic primary over three competitors. That means he’ll face incumbent Republican Mike Turner in November. Turner and Esrati have a history that goes back more than 25 years.

⋅ 8th Congressional District: Incumbent Republican Warren Davidson (72%) dominated challenger Phil Heimlich. He’ll be favored against Democrat Vanessa Enoch in November in a Republican-leaning district that includes Butler, Preble and Darke counties, plus parts of Miami and Hamilton counties.

⋅ 4th Congressional District: In the far north Miami Valley, Tamie Wilson (52%) edged Jeffrey A. Sites in a Democratic primary, earning the right to face longtime Republican Congressman Jim Jordan in November.

⋅ 1st Congressional District: After uncontested primaries in this Warren County district, incumbent Republican Steve Chabot will face Democrat Greg Landsman in November.

⋅ 15th Congressional District: After uncontested primaries, Republican Mike Carey will face Democrat Gary Josephson in the 15th District, which includes parts of Miami, Clark, Shelby and other counties.

» REACTION: Southwest Ohio Congressional primaries

School levies

⋅ Springfield: Residents passed the continuing 5.06-mill levy that will generate $3.5 million a year for general permanent improvements.

⋅ Clark-Shawnee: Residents rejected the continuing 12.1-mill substitute levy that would continue to generate $4.7 million for district operations.

⋅ West Liberty-Salem: Residents passed the five-year, 1% renewal income tax levy that will generate $1.6 million of the district’s regular operating budget.

County-level races

⋅ Clark County commission: Sasha Rittenhouse (44%) overwhelmingly won the Republican primary race over Mike Lowrey, Rich Holt and William Lindsey. The four Republicans ran for the seat of incumbent Rick Lohnes, who opted not to run for re-election. No Democrat filed to run for county commission this primary.

⋅ Champaign County commission: In the Republican primary, Nino Vitale (35%) topped incumbent Bob Corbett, Marcia Bailey and David Faulkner. No Democrats filed to run for commission.

⋅ Clark County judge: Brian Driscoll (41%) leads the Republican primary over Melissa Tuttle and Daniel Harkins for Clark County Common Pleas Court judge. The winner of the primary will face off with Democratic candidate Regina Richards.

About the Author