Springfield Then & Now: Clauer Brothers Grocery

In April 1913, brothers George L. and Daniel L. Clauer opened Clauer Brothers Grocery at 1901 W. Main Street. PHOTO COURTESY OF THE CLARK COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY
Caption
In April 1913, brothers George L. and Daniel L. Clauer opened Clauer Brothers Grocery at 1901 W. Main Street. PHOTO COURTESY OF THE CLARK COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY

Credit: HANDOUT

Credit: HANDOUT

In April 1913, brothers George L. and Daniel L. Clauer opened Clauer Brothers Grocery at 1901 W. Main Street.

Previously, George had been a house painter and for the ten years prior had run a grocery with T.H. Hannigan at Harrison and Ludlow.

Explore»»Springfield Then & Now: Wartime Independence Day celebration

The grocery’s first location on West Main had previously been a storefront for the Ihrig feed store, before it moved to another location on the street. The Clauer Brothers’ grocery sold local products whenever possible and expanded a lot over the years, eventually operating 23 stores around Springfield at the time of their peak in the late 1930s.

Explore»»Springfield Then & Now: An early look at the Myers Market site

Today, the building is still standing at the intersection of West Main Street and Sigler Street. It is empty and has a for sale sign on the front window.

Explore»»Springfield Then & Now: Chakeres theaters