Auglaize, Mercer, Logan and Shelby counties earn SBA disaster declaration after May flooding

Auglaize, Mercer, Logan and Shelby counties are among seven counties to receive a U.S. Small Business Administration disaster declaration for May flooding, Gov. Mike DeWine announced this evening.

RELATED: St. Marys community hit hard by floodwaters

The SBA disaster declaration following the May 17 flooding opens the possibility of low-interest disaster loans for business owners, homeowners and renters.

“Earlier this week, I requested this disaster declaration in an effort to help those impacted by these floods," DeWine stated in a release. “I’m pleased that those with uninsured damage can now apply for this assistance.”

PHOTOS: Storms cause flooding, other issues across northern Miami Valley

A preliminary damage assessment found 26 structures in Auglaize County with uninsured damage from the May 17 flooding, DeWine stated in his letter Tuesday requesting the declaration.

This SBA-only declaration is for individuals and businesses who have uninsured losses from the May 17 flooding event in Auglaize and six adjacent counties: Mercer, Van Wert, Allen, Hardin, Logan and Shelby counties.

RELATED: Submerged vehicles prompt multiple water rescues in Shelby County

This is the second federal disaster declaration in as many weeks for Ohio as President Trump declared a major presidential disaster June 18 for 10 counties affected by tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding and landslides that occurred in May.

About the Author