Greeneview, Mechanicsburg players All-Ohio first team

Greeneview’s Isaiah Harding and Ethan Bradds and Mechanicsburg teammates Kaleb Romero, Dylan Hartman and Dylan Hartley all were selected first team All-Ohio football by the Associated Press on Wednesday. Harding and Bradds were Division V choices and the Indians’ trio were D-VI honorees.

The Southwest District defensive player of the year, Harding was chosen as a lineman. Bradds, an outstanding tight end for the Rams, was selected as a punter. They were key reasons Greeneview (9-3) advanced to the playoffs three straight seasons. The Rams lost to four-time defending state champ Coldwater 27-24 in a Region 20 semifinal.

Bradds has committed to Eastern Kentucky University.

It’s the second straight season for Romero and Hartley to be named D-VI first team. Romero reset the Indians’ significant single-season and career offensive records. He signed to wrestle at Ohio State. Hartley was just as dominant as a defensive lineman. Hartman was named as an offensive lineman.

Mechanicsburg (12-1) rolled to its second straight 10-0 regular season and lost 26-15 to Marion local in a Region 24 final.

All five area first-team players are seniors.

Chosen to the D-V second team offense was Northeastern senior lineman Lane McKinney. Making D-VI special mention was Trevor Burden of West Liberty-Salem.

The D-V offensive and defensive players of the year were running back Sam Stoll (Milan Edison) and linebacker Griffin Baumoel (Canton Central Catholic). The D-V coach of the year was Marce Porcello (Wickliffe).

The D-VI players of the year were running back Donny Johnson (Hamler Patrick Henry) and linebacker Owen Loncar (Kirtland). The D-VI coach of the year was Bill Inselmann (Hamler Patrick Henry)

Teams were chosen by statewide district media panels based on nominations from coaches and forwarded to the Associated Press, which determined the All-Ohio teams. Division VII All-Ohio and Mr Football will be announced today.