Townships across Ohio will celebrate Ohio Twp. Day on Thursday, Feb. 1. JEFF GUERINI/STAFF

Champaign County to recognize Township Day

House Bill 652, enacted in 1998, designated Feb. 1 as Ohio Township Day and was the first year in which it was celebrated.

DETAILS: Sexual orientation added to Springfield’s non-discrimination ordinance

“They are an efficient and effective form of local government,” said Matthew DeTemple, executive director of the Ohio Township Association. “Townships account for only 2.7 percent of total spent on state and local government in Ohio. People are recognizing the benefits of living in townships. From 2000 to 2010, virtually all of Ohio’s population growth occurred in townships.”

Road maintenance, fire protection, zoning and land use planning, and parks and recreation are typical township responsibilities are governed by the Ohio Revised Code.

The Champaign County Township Association is comprised of 12 township elected officials, zoning inspectors and associate members from Adams, Concord, Goshen, Harrison, Jackson, Johnson, Mad River, Rush, Salem, Union, Urbana and Wayne Twps.

The CCTA goal is to collaborate on issues that might enable each township to provide more efficient and cost effective services. The CCTA developed a scholarship program in 2015 paid for by donations that awards a $500 community involvement scholarship and a $500 academic achievement scholarship to Champaign County students each year.


Navistar to redesign trucks, begin UAW talks in Springfield in 2018

Clark County SPCA pet shelter now open to public

Here’s your chance to have a say in the future of western Clark County

WSU research arm tries to rebuild reputation amid investigations