Breaking News

Report: Big Ten football season will be canceled

Springfield Rotary awards grants to more than a dozen local teachers


More than a dozen special education teachers have been named as recipients of the 2019-20 Grants-To-Teachers’ project by the Office of Springfield Rotary Services to People with Disabilities.

Awards given out through the project this school year will total $5,600 and will be used by 22 teachers across Clark County. A total of 49 faculty of multi-disability, cross-categorical or intense resource classrooms at the elementary, middle and high school levels were invited to apply for the grants.

MORE: Local school district warns milk supplier issues likely to impact students

Teachers that have been selected for the grants represent Springfield City, Clark-Shawnee Local, Northeastern Local, Northwestern Local, and Tecumseh Local School Districts, as well as the Springfield-Clark CTC. A total of 172 local students with disabilities have been impacted by the project.

Through the Grants-To-Teachers’ project, the Springfield Rotary has provided opportunities for therapeutic horseback riding, life and leadership skills, field trips, equipment for teaching life skills, materials and equipment to promote fine motor, gross motor and visual motor skill development, as well as materials to increase vocabulary, literacy, math, science and social studies’ skills, while providing opportunities for focus, learning and communication.

MORE: No updates on Upper Valley Mall redevelopment as another store closes

The grants are designed to help enhance students’ intellectual, emotional, social and physical wellness. Those who have been awarded the grants include:

Gabe Abraham, Northeastern High School

Alicia Ayers, Northwestern Elementary

Emily Baker, Northwestern Jr./Sr. High School

Annette Black, Springfield High School

Laura Brown, Perrin Woods Elementary

Krista Cahoon, Northwestern Elementary

Shonda Eberhard, Northeastern High School

Katy Ferrell, Possum Middle School

Stephanie Foreman, South Vienna Elementary

Alisa Hartlage, Northridge Elementary

Amanda Hegemier, Shawnee Middle School

Kate Johnson, Possum Elementary

Natalie Koukis, Shawnee Middle School

Katie Locke, South Vienna Middle School

Laurie Maravetz, Schaefer Middle School

Ashlee Mischler, New Carlisle Elementary

Beth Oder, Springfield Clark CTC

Jeri Lynne Schmenk, Snyder Park Elementary

Brian Shipman, Springfield High School

Christa Sodders, Northeastern High School

Tim Sullivan, Springfield High School

Laura Wright, Tecumseh High School