Clark Co. Juvenile Detention Director named most valuable superintendent

Clark County Juvenile Detention Director Joe Hunter has been named as the Most Valuable Superintendent by the School Nutrition Association (SNA) of Ohio.

“It’s been extremely rough this year and it’s just nice to get an award that I can share with the employees at the Clark County Juvenile Court,” Hunter said.

Hunter was nominated by Juvenile Court Head Cook Linda Leonard for his “instrumental role in making the foodservice department child-friendly.”

Article continues below
ExploreSpringfield nonprofit prepares third bid to secure funding for additional senior housing

“Especially when he faces any negativity, he responds with positivity in order to demonstrate to the children that he and his staff are there for them... He understands the importance of nutrition,” she said. “Beyond the children, Joseph is supportive of his staff whenever they have any special requests and always encourages them to attend professional development trainings in order for them to continue to improve and gain more knowledge.”

Our journalists are committed to pursuing the facts.We can do this important work because of you. Thank you.

Hunter, who has worked at the center for nearly two decades, will be honored by the SNA next year due to the coronavirus.

Support Local JournalismSpringfield News-Sun' journalists report what's really going on in your community.
ExploreClark County begins coronavirus vaccines for EMS workers in old department store

“We are fortunate to have Joe as our Detention Center Director,” said Clark County Juvenile Court Judge Katrine Lancaster. “It may be surprising to some that we have a school in our detention center so that youth can receive an education while detained. Joe is not only the Detention Center Director, but also the superintendent of our school. Joe’s background is in education and he places great value on the education of our detained youth. His commitment to the challenged youth of our community is exemplified in this award.”

About the Author