Wright State’s Love, Nagy honored with Horizon League major awards

The Horizon League regular-season title may have eluded Wright State, but the Raiders have secured a couple of major all-conference awards.

Loudon Love is the Freshman of the Year, and Scott Nagy is the Coach of the Year, the league announced Wednesday.

A panel of conference coaches and media members also voted senior guard Grant Benzinger first team All-Horizon League, while placing Love on the second team and naming junior guard Mark Hughes to the all-defensive team.

“I think that the awards given out are essential team awards for us, I think that’s how the guys look at it, and I’m sure they’re all very humbled for being honored,” Nagy said. “All three of them made tremendous contributions to our basketball team and certainly are very deserving.”

›› Wright State’s Chelsea Welch named HL Women’s Player of the Year

Love, a 6-foot-9, 275-point center, led the conference in rebounding (9.7) and was 15th in scoring (12.7) and second in field-goal percentage (.533). He recorded 12 double-doubles, including a 23-point, 15-rebound performance to rally the Raiders from 14 down Sunday in an 88-81 win at UIC.

Named the conference freshman of the week seven times, Love is the first freshman of the year in WSU history.

Julius Mays (junior, 2011), Cain Doliboa (senior, 2002), Jesse Deister (junior, 2001), Kevin Melson (junior, 1999) and Vitaly Potapenko (sophomore, 1995) all won newcomer of the year when players transferring into the conference were eligible for the award.

Follow Jay Morrison on Twitter

The league reclassified it as freshman of the year prior to the 2012-13 season.

For Nagy, this is his first conference coach of the year award in nine seasons at the Division I level (seven at South Dakota State and two at WSU).

Picked to finish fifth, Wright State got off to an 8-0 start and led the league for most of the season and swept regular-season champ Northern Kentucky.

Nagy won five North Central Conference C.O.Y. awards (2003, 2002, 1998, 1997, 1996) when South Dakota State was a Division II program.

›› RELATED: WSU baseball wins weekend series against nationally ranked team

Benzinger, who was voted second team last year, ranked eighth in the league in scoring (14.6), first in free throw percentage (.891) and third in 3-point percentage (.371). He also ranked 18th in rebounding (4.9) with a career-high 153 and fifth in minutes (34.4).

Joining Benzinger on the first team are Oakland’s Kendrick Nunn, the HL Player of the Year, and Jalen Hayes, Green Bay’s Khalil Small and NKU’s Drew McDonald.

Like Jay Morrison on Facebook

In addition to Love, the second team featured Youngstown State’s Cameron Morse, Detroit Mercy’s Kameron Chatman, NKU’s Lavone Holland II and Milwaukee’s Jeremiah Bell.

Only coaches voted on the all-defensive team, which Hughes made for the first time. The others are UIC’s Tai Odiase, the Defensive Player of the Year, NKU’s Jalen Tate, Oakland’s Martez Walker and Green Bay’s Small.

Reader Comments

Next Up in Sports

Ohio State players describe finding out Urban Meyer is retiring, what made him successful
Ohio State players describe finding out Urban Meyer is retiring, what made him successful

Some Buckeyes were caught off guard by Urban Meyer’s announcement he will retire from coaching Ohio State after the Rose Bowl. Others not so much. Robert Landers said the Dec. 4 announcement, “was kind of out of nowhere,” and Chris Olave recalled having no idea what was in store when the team gathered at the Woody Hayes Athletic...
Disciplined Springfield earns hard-fought win at Centerville
Disciplined Springfield earns hard-fought win at Centerville

Springfield High School boys basketball coach Isaiah Carson knew the key to beating rival Centerville was playing disciplined — especially on the defensive end of the floor. The Wildcats had to stay structured in the paint against Centerville 6-foot-9 post player Mo Njie, who stood four inches taller than any player on Springfield’s roster...
HS Scores 12/14: Hall leads Fairmont in win over ‘Boro

Boys Basketball Friday’s Results Alter 40, McNicholas 38: Uhl (A) 19; Burkhardt (M) 16. Ansonia 40, Newton 37, OT: Jamison (N) 11. Arcanum 47, National Trail 41: Meeks (A) 26; Harris (NT) 10. Benjamin Logan 70, Graham 69, OT Butler 58, Troy 50 Catholic Central 68, Cedarville 48 Cin. Christian 70, New Miami 52: Reutener (CC) 15; Duncan (NM) 23...
HS Roundup 12/14: Spears, Ellis push Stivers past Thurgood Marshall

Ivynn Spears sank the go-ahead foul shot with nine seconds to play, giving Stivers a 59-58 victory versus Thurgood Marshall in boys basketball on Friday. Trevon Ellis led the way for Stivers with 16 points and Da’Juan Allen tacked on 14. Anthony McComb paced Thurgood with 18 points. Boys Basketball Alter 40, McNicholas 38: Brady Uhl led the way...
Girls basketball power rankings: Who are the top teams in the area?
Girls basketball power rankings: Who are the top teams in the area?

Here’s who we consider the top girls high school basketball teams for the area power rankings. Division I 1. Centerville (5-0): d. Trotwood-Madison 88-34, d. Springfield 70-34; hosts Beavercreek on Sat., hosts Wayne on Mon. 2. Wayne (4-1): d. Wilmington 55-46; at Miamisburg on Sat., at Centerville on Mon., hosts Belmont on Wed. 3. Tecumseh (3-2)...
More Stories