Wittenberg’s Jonathan Seay practices on Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2018, in Springfield. David Jablonski/Staff
Photo: Staff Writer
Photo: Staff Writer

Wittenberg junior wins NCAC Defensive Player of Year award

Seay, a junior from Miramar, Fla., followed the 2017 winner, Chandler Ferko, and the 2016 winner, Dustin Holmes. Wittenberg has had 11 players win the award.

» RELATED: Wittenberg clinches share of NCAC title

Seay had 77 total tackles (40 solo, 37 asst.), including 4.5 sacks. He had two interceptions and one fumble recovery.

Wittenberg, which finished 9-1 and 8-1 in the NCAC and tied for the league title with Wabash and Denison, had five players named to the first team: Seay; wide receiver Jeff Tiffner; offensive lineman Chris Reisiger; defensive lineman Brandon Daniels; and defensive back Troy Jones.

» FEATURE: Seay latest Florida native to succeed at Wittenberg

Making the second team were: quarterback Jake Kennedy; tight end Noah Dehnke; center Tommy Gerhard; linebacker Terrance Crowe; and defensive back Jordan Burkey.

Receiving honorable mentions were: running back Nick Kendall and kicker Adam Acquista.

Denison quarterback Canaan Gebele was named the NCAC’s top offensive player. Allegheny kicker Chase Ball was named the special teams player of the year. Wabash coach Don Morel was named coach of the year.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.