Wittenberg’s Holmes, Gingery earn top NCAC honors

Holmes, a 2010 Tecumseh graduate, became the first Wittenberg player since defensive lineman Eddie Vallery in 2009 to win the Hank Critchfield Award as the league’s top defender. He made 90 tackles for a defense that allowed 9.6 points per game.

Gingery, of Bexley, Ohio, was named special teams player of the year. He led the league in punting average (44.9) and field goals (18 of 22). He made 38 of 39 extra points.

Nine Tigers made the All-NCAC first team: Holmes; Gingery; offensive linemen Kennedy Cook, Keylahn Hodo and Alec Nutting; defensive lineman Bobby Saul; linebacker Jack Kayser; cornerback Rashon Edwards; and return specialist Jeff Tiffner, a Kenton Ridge graduate.

Tigers named to the second team were: running back DeShawn Sarley; linebacker Terrance Crowe, a Springfield graduate; and defensive lineman Chandler Ferko. Wide receiver Luke Landis received an honorable mention.

DePauw quarterback Matt Hunt was named NCAC offensive player of the year. Denison’s Jack Hatem was named coach of the year.

Wittenberg finished the regular season 9-1 and won the NCAC at 8-1. It plays at Thomas More at noon Saturday in the first round of the Division III playoffs.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.