Trotwood-Madison sr. Ra’veion Hargrove reflects on winning D-III state football championship following a 27-19 defeat of Dresden Tri-Valley at Canton on Sat., Dec. 2, 2017. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Trotwood-Madison’s Ra’veion Hargrove named Ohio Gatorade Player of the Year

Ra’veion Hargrove has been named the Ohio Player of the Year by Gatorade. 

The star running back from Trotwood-Madison ran for 2,264 yards and 30 touchdowns as the Rams went 15-0 and won the Division III state championship. 

RELATED: Is Hargrove the area’s best running back ever?

He was runner-up for the AP’s Ohio Mr. Football award and finished his career with 7,364 rushing yards and 100 touchdowns. 

»PICTURE THIS: Ra’veion Hargrove photo gallery

»MR. FOOTBALL: Trotwood RB Ra’veion Hargrove runner-up

»THAT’S A WRAP: 15-0 Trotwood-Madison wins D-III state title

»FINISHED BUSINESS: Rams on a mission to complete unbeaten season

The last winner of the Ohio Gatorade Player of the Year Award from the Dayton/Middletown/Springfield area was Jordan Hicks, a standout linebacker from Lakota West (2009). 

The other winners from the Miami Valley are Troy running back Ryan Brewer (1998), Springfield South receiver Dee Miller (1993) and Centerville quarterback Kirk Herbstreit (1987). 

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.