Talawanda’s Richter first team All-Ohio

Ana Richter of Talawanda High School was the only area player to make first team on the Associated Press Divisions I and II All-Ohio girls basketball teams, which were released on Monday.

Richter, a 6-foot-1 junior, averaged 18.5 points and 9.6 rebounds. She led the Braves a perfect 21-0 regular season and a Southwest Ohio Conference championship. She also was the D-II Southwest District player of the year.

Talawanda, 24-1 overall, was beaten by Carroll 43-41 in a district final.

Fairmont’s Kathryn Westbeld and Trischa Lacy of Urbana were the only area players to land on second team. Westbeld, a 6-2 junior, has helped the Firebirds earn a final four berth for the fourth straight season. Fairmont plays Toledo Notre Dame Academy in the D-I state semifinals in Columbus at 8 p.m. Friday.

Lacy was a D-II second-teamer. The senior averaged 30.3 points and twice surpassed 50 in one game.

Earning D-I special mention were Alexis Gassion (Fairborn), Kayla McDowell (Mason) and Jullian Spurlock (Hamilton). Bellbrook’s Erin Dorn was a D-II special mention pick.

Ashley Morrissette of two-time defending state D-I champ Twinsburg was chosen the D-I player of the year. The 5-9 senior averaged 19.1 points.

In D-II, Amanda Cahill of Clyde and Vanessa Smith of multiple state champion Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown shared player of the year honors.

Julie Solis (Twinsburg), Todd Sims (Perrysburg) and Trish Kruse (Solon) shared the D-I coach of the year honor. Ryan Orshoski (Bellevue) and Lisa Patterson (Millersburg West Holmes) shared the D-II coach of the year honor.

The selections were based on the recommendations of a media panel. The girls Divisons III and IV teams will be released today.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.