Returning starters, walk-on among Ohio State football captains

Ohio State announced Friday the Buckeye football team will have seven captains this fall.

In addition to quarterback J.T. Barrett, center Pat Elflein and linebacker Raekwon McMillan (who were named captains during winter conditioning by head coach Urban Meyer), the group consists of linebacker Joe Burger, cornerback Gareon Conley, defensive end Tyquan Lewis and offensive lineman Billy Price.

RELATED: Elliott impresses in NFL preseason debut

Barrett, Elflein and Price are Ohio State’s three returning starters on offense while McMillan, Conley and Lewis are the three returning starters on the other side of the ball, and Burger is a walk-on from Cincinnati LaSalle who has developed into a key reserve.

Barrett becomes the 10th two-time captain in school history, a group that also includes former Wayne standout Braxton Miller.

RELATED: Elflein still working his way back from surgery

Other two-time Ohio State captains are John Simon, James Laurinaitis, Joe Cooper, Steve Bellisari, Pepper Johnson, Glen Gobb, Archie Griffin and Richard Ellis.