5 Raiders earn HL postseason awards

Five Wright State baseball players earned all-league recognition when the Horizon League announced its postseason awards Tuesday.

Freshman pitcher Ryan Weiss was selected as the Freshman of the Year and joined second baseman Matt Morrow on the first team, while junior pitcher Danny Sexton, junior pitcher Derek Hendrixson and freshman third baseman Seth Gray made second team.

This is the fourth consecutive year the WSU program has produced the conference’s Freshman of the Year, with Weiss following Caleb Sampen (2016), Gabe Snyder (2015) and Sean Murphy (2014).

Weiss, who also is the reigning HL Pitcher of the Week, is 7-1 with a league-best 2.09 ERA. He also ranks third in strikeouts (74), fourth in wins (seven), fifth in opposing batting average (.232) and seventh in innings pitched (81.2).

Morrow is tied for fourth in the league in walks (34) and ranks fifth in hits (69), sixth in runs scored (45) and on-base percentage (.421), eighth in batting average (.325) and 10th in total bases (99).

Sexton led the league in batters struck out looking (27) and is tied for second in wins (eight), ranks fifth in earned run average (2.80) and innings pitched (83.2), and sixth in opposing batting average (.237). He also won a pair of HL Pitcher of the Week honors this season.

Hendrixson, a Beavercreek High School graduate, led the league with nine saves, including five in league play.

Gray, a Shawnee grad, hit .306 during the regular season as he is third in the league in stolen bases (18), is tied for fourth in triples (4) and ranks seventh in hits (66). He also won the HL Batter of the Week award last month.

Wright State (36-19) is the No. 2 seed for this week’s Horizon League tournament, which will take place at Granderson Stadium on the UIC campus. The Raiders open against the highest remaining seed after Wednesday’s first-round games.

About the Author