All-Area football: Division I

The Division I All-Area football team, chosen by Cox Media Group Ohio. Selections were based on coaches’ nominations.


First Team Offense

Quarterbacks: Miles Johnson, Northmont, 6-1, 195, sr.; Rashad McKee, Wayne, 6-2, 190, sr.

Running backs: Jesse Deglow, Fairmont, 5-10, 194, sr.; Devin Nelson, Wayne, 6-0, 190, jr.

»» RELATED: Alter, Marion Local advance to title games

»» RELATED: Fort Loramie falls in D-VII state semi

Receivers: Michael Brown-Stephens, Springfield, 6-0, 180, sr.; Corey Burnette, Centerville, 5-10, 175, sr.; Justin Golson, Northmont, 5-11,185, jr.; JR Melzer, Centerville, 6-0, 180, sr.; Steve Victoria, Wayne, 6-0, 185, sr.

Linemen: Colin Alcorn, Miamisburg, 6-3, 235, sr.; Zierin Exon, Springfield, 6-4, 290, jr.; Isaiah Gibson, Springfield, 6-4, 294, sr.; Jacob Padilla, Wayne, 6-2, 275, jr.; Patrick Roncagli, Fairmont, 5-9, 260, sr.

Kicker: Billy Crago, Lebanon, 5-10, 160, sr.

»» PHOTOS: Fort Loramie vs. McComb, football playoffs

»» RELATED: All-Area football Divisions II-III

First Team Defense

Linemen: Brian Heyward, Northmont, 6-2, 235, sr.; Gabe Newburg, Northmont, 6-5, 235, sr.; Dylan Wudke, Miamisburg, 6-4, 210, sr.

Linebackers: Trey Baker, Fairmont, 6-0, 215, jr.; Jestin Jacobs, Northmont, 6-4, 205, sr.; Tavion Smith, Springfield, 6-0, 196, sr.; Nick Straw, Lebanon, 6-3, 235, sr.

Secondary: Moses Douglass, Springfield, 6-3, 202, sr.; Ryan Hall, Fairmont, 6-4, 185, sr.; Justin Harris, Wayne, 6-0, 190, sr.; Danny Lewis, Northmont, 5-10, 170, sr.; Caleb Newman, Lebanon, 6-1, 185, sr.; Marqies Williams, Fairmont, 5-10, 170, sr.; Maurice Wilson, Beavercreek, 5-8, 175, sr.

»» RELATED: State football championships schedule

»» RELATED: Alter defeats Norwalk in D-III state semifinal

Punter: Brandon Walters, Centerville, 6-0, 175, sr.

Co-Offensive players of the year: Jesse Deglow, Fairmont; Miles Johnson, Northmont

Co-Defensive players of the year: Jestin Jacobs, Northmont; Gabe Newburg, Northmont

Co-Coaches of the year: Tony Broering, Northmont; Maurice Douglass, Springfield

»» PHOTOS: Alter vs. Norwalk, D-III football state semi 

»» RELATED: All-Area football Divisions IV-V

Honorable mention: Connor Bunts, Braden Miller, Fairmont; Tate Vongsy, Miamisburg; Christopher Lawrence, Jason Smith, Connor Tinch, Beavercreek; RaHeim Moss, TayVeon Smoot, Springfield; David Weherley, Northmont; Mason DeGennaro, Lebanon; Max Wynn, Centerville.

»» RELATED: Fort Loramie rallies around new coach

»» RELATED: Divisions VI-VII All-Area football

»» RELATED: Marion Local has a winning combination

»» RELATED: It’s a first for Fort Loramie

»» RELATED: Quick start propels Marion Local

»» PHOTOS: Marion Local vs. Coldwater, football playoffs

»» RELATED: It’s Coldwater vs. Marion Local

»» RELATED: Top Southwest District honors for area players, coaches

»» RELATED: Football playoffs an Alter tradition

»» RELATED: Lebanon leaving GWOC

»» PHOTOS: Northmont vs. Pickerington Central, football playoffs

»» RELATED: Final football power rankings

»» FACEBOOK: For more sports you should like Marc Pendleton

»» TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

»» FACEBOOK LIVE: Hartsock and Pendleton on football playoffs

About the Author