Nominees announced for Golden Leaf Awards

The Developmental Disabilities of Clark County announced the nominees for the second annual Golden Leaf Awards.

Members of the community who work to exemplify excellence in inclusion, employment, advocacy, and support on behalf of citizens with developmental disabilities were nominated by the public.

Awards will be given to one selected nominee in each of the five award categories.

The Rosemary Paxson Award honors a person or organization dedicated to making a difference in the lives of individuals with disabilities.

READ: Free active shooter training by Clark County Sheriff Office

Nominees are: Bonita Heeg; Deb Yowler; Derek Snowden; Jeana Baucant; Jeff Turner; Jill Acuff; Kate Johnson; Lane Martin; Michael Brassfield; Patty Helm; Karen Hill; and Vicki Mundy.

The DSP Excellence Award recognizes a person who has positively affected an individual through his/her work as a Direct Support Professional.

Nominees are: Candi Malone; Janet Zawada; Janie Gearhart; Kali Lytle; Melisa Cartwright; Mike Carlson; Pam Green; Robin Sheridan; Toni Lewis; and Vicki Mundy.

The Donnis Bailey Self Advocacy Award commends an individual with a disability whose actions or advocacy efforts have helped themselves or others.

Nominees are: Brian Golen; Jennifer Lemmons; Jeremiah Sherman; John Hudnell; and Jordan Lyons.

READ: Meet Pablo, the Clark County Sheriff’s Office new K-9

The Champion City Employer of the Year Award honors a business or organization that has embraced a workforce where all people can be valued and appreciated.

Nominees are: ADECCO; Corie White; Dole; Job and Family Services; Jones Kenney Zechman; Self-Reliance; and Sweet Manufacturing.

The Dr. F.F. Mueller Visionary Award recognizes a person or organization that is making an impact in the community for individuals with disabilities through inclusive opportunities, innovative programs, volunteerism, or organizational partnerships.

The nominees are: Angela Stan, Autumn Trails Stables; Anjala Betleyoun; and Lane Martin.

The awards will be presented during a luncheon, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Oct. 16 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Springfield. This event will feature a meal, awards ceremony, and guest speaker, Chris Ulmer. Tickets are available at

About the Author