Reid Middle School’s winning eighth-grade Power of the Pen Team: From left, Hailey Snyder, Molly Bline, McKayla Naill, Ashlynn Flora, Ben Saunders, Hanna Haddix, Lexi Knisley, Hannah Snyder, Daylyn Adams and Coach Darcy Leis. CONTRIBUTED

Clark County students among winners in Power of the Pen competition

The team from Madison Plains Junior High School won the seventh-grade writing competition and the team from Reid Middle School the eighth-grade competition in the district Power of the Pen tournament held Jan. 21 at the Career Connect Ed Center/Global Stem Academy in Springfield.

Following Madison Plains were seventh-grade teams from Possum School, Reid School and Rockway Middle School. Madison Plains’ eighth-grade team finished second, followed by Roosevelt Middle School and Ridgewood School.

In Power of the Pen competitions, students write three essays and have the body of their work judged against all other students in their grades. In all, 183 students from 16 area schools participated in the tournament, one of 24 in Ohio.

The top eighth-grade writer over three rounds was Megan Ferguson of Possum. Tori Huxley of Rockway finished second and Molly Bline of Reid third. Others who received trophies or medallions for their top-15 finishes were, in order: McKayla Naill, Reid; Kirsten Abbey, Roosevelt; Audrey Hallmark, Ridgewood; Rosalia Dalton, South Vienna Middle School; Rachel Weis, Madison Plains; Daylyn Adams, Reid; Delaney Gray, Northridge; Samuel Asebrock, Roosevelt; Faith Smith, Graham Middle School; Sarah Dower, Emmanuel Christian Academy; Alicia Skinner, London Middle School; and Thomas Edwards, Ridgewood.

Logan Smith of Possum was the best seventh-grade writer, and there was a tie for second between Andrew Geyer of Madison Plains and Jonah Cundiff of Emmanuel Christian. Fourth through 15th place winners were Niya Shopshire, Emmanuel Christian; Kloe Archbold, Greenon Junior/Senior High; Isabella Fissel, Ridgewood; Sariah Echols, Reid; Bryce Hajnik, South Vienna; Tess Holcomb, Possum; Raaidh Rizvi, Ridgewood; Josie Wise, Greenon; Ayden McPherson, Madison Plains; Sydney Hall, Possum; Abbie Taylor, Northwestern Middle School; and Natalie Boehmer, Rockway.

Awards also went to the students who wrote the best essays written by all competitors in their grade level for each round. Seventh-grade winners were Niya Shopshire, Emmanuel Christian; Macy Dehart, Northridge; and Sariah Echols, Reid.

Eighth-grade Best of Round winners were Tori Huxley, Rockway; Brooke Black, Northwestern; and Delaney Gray, Northridge.

Higher finishers in the Springfield-area event advance to regional competition to earn a chance to compete in the state Power of the Pen tournament this spring.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.