Who’s running for Statehouse seats from Clark, Champaign County?

Voters are going to have plenty of candidates to choose from this year in Southwest Ohio’s state House races with Democrats fielding candidates in every race and incumbents facing primary challengers across the region.

Republicans hold large majorities in both the Ohio House and the Senate but Democrats hope to ride a mid-term wave of voter dissatisfaction and regain some seats. The Ohio House Democratic Caucus on Wednesday announced it had candidates for all 99 House seats in the state.

“We are experiencing an unprecedented level of enthusiasm among Democrats here in Ohio,” OHDC Executive Director Aaron Fisher said. “This enthusiasm has produced a real appetite to hold Republican legislators accountable and to elect leaders that will be change agents in every corner of the state.”

RELATED: Who is running for Congress locally? Field is taking shape

Ohio Republican Party spokesman Blaine Kelly asked what platform do those 99 Democrats plan to run on.

“If it’s the same platform that statewide and federal Democrat candidates are using, which is to obstruct the booming economy, increasing wages and job opportunities that Republican policies have brought about, then they will meet the same fate in November — defeat,” Kelly said.

The candidates who filed won’t know if they actually make the May 8 primary ballot until the local boards of election certify by Feb. 19 that they have at least 50 valid signatures of registered voters on their nominating petitions.

Here is a look at who filed to run in the Springfield region:

79th House

Incumbent State Rep. Kyle Koehler, R-Springfield, will face Democrat Amanda Finfrock of New Carlisle in November as neither has a primary opponent.

The 79th District includes Springfield, New Carlisle and all of western Clark County, as well as the southeastern part of the county.

85th House

Incumbent State Rep. Nino Vitale, R-Urbana, joins a crowded field of Republicans who filed, including Justin G. Griffis and Joseph Ratermann, both of Sidney, and Rochiel V. Foulk of Urbana. Democrat Garrett Baldwin of Mechanicsburg also filed for the 85th.

RELATED: Urbana lawmaker wants to nullify federal gun laws in Ohio

The 85th district includes all of Champaign County and most of Logan County as well as southeastern Shelby County.

74th House

Incumbent State Rep. Bill Dean, R-Xenia, is unopposed in the primary and in November will face the winner of a Democratic primary pitting Anne Gorman of Plain City against Steve W. Key of Wilberforce.

The 74th district includes Northeastern Clark County, as well as Xenia, Cedarville, eastern Greene County and all of Madison County.

Other stories by Lynn Hulsey

Ohio Supreme Court ruling against abortion clinics could impact Kettering clinic

U.S. Sen. Portman criticizes Trump for calling Democrats ‘treasonous’ during his Cincinnati visit

Tips to Avoid Gun Violence At work

Protection orders “Not Going to stop a bullet”

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Politics

Springfield City Commission makes plans to improve downtown area
Springfield City Commission makes plans to improve downtown area

The Springfield City Commission is looking at new ways to revitalize the city’s downtown sector. According to the commission’s goals and objectives released recently, the commission is looking to make improvements to the South Limestone Street corridor by improving existing business properties and offering new incentives to potential home...
VA may expand private health care choices for veterans
VA may expand private health care choices for veterans

Veterans will have expanded private health care options under legislation passed by Congress, but some critics contend it could lead to more privatization of VA services. The measure was part of a sweeping $51 billion VA bill that would institute reforms within the federal agency. The Senate passed the measure in 92-5 vote this week, which continued...
Trump says N. Korea summit may be back on; Ohio lawmakers react
Trump says N. Korea summit may be back on; Ohio lawmakers react

President Donald Trump on Friday warmly welcomed North Korea’s promising response to his abrupt withdrawal from the potentially historic Singapore summit and said “we’re talking to them now” about putting it back on track. “Everybody plays games,” said Trump, who often boasts about his own negotiating tactics and...
Thousands of military civilian jobs in Ohio at risk
Thousands of military civilian jobs in Ohio at risk

The U.S. House passed a defense spending bill Thursday that could impact nearly 6,000 civilian defense jobs in Columbus and 2,600 in Cleveland. The impact of the proposal on the Dayton region and Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, meanwhile, would be negligible. Rep. Mike Turner, R-Dayton, a member of the House Armed Services Committee, said the House...
House OKs $182M Wright-Patt expansion, military pay raise
House OKs $182M Wright-Patt expansion, military pay raise

The House has passed a $717 billion defense policy bill that would give the military a 2.6 percent pay hike, the largest in nine years and allow for a major expansion at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. The bill OKs a massive $182 million expansion of the National Air and Space Intelligence Center at the base, one of the largest expansions in history...
More Stories