Scoby, Roeder elected as Springfield Twp. trustees

A man stands by himself as he casts in vote at a Springfield election poll Tuesday. Bill Lackey/Staff

Combined ShapeCaption
A man stands by himself as he casts in vote at a Springfield election poll Tuesday. Bill Lackey/Staff

Incumbent Jim Scoby and challenger John Roeder were elected as Springfield Twp. trustees Tuesday, according to final, unofficial election results.

Scoby finished with 36 percent of the vote, while Roeder finished with 34 percent. Incumbent Dean Wells wasn’t re-elected after serving eight years as trustee, finishing with about 30 percent of the vote.

MORE: New Carlisle income tax change fails

Scoby was re-elected to his fifth term as trustee. He’s served on the board of trustees since 2000.

Roeder recently retired as fire chief of Springfield Twp. after 15 years. He ran for the position of trustee in 2015, but was defeated by incumbent Tim Foley.

Springfield Twp. is the third-largest township in Clark County, with more than 12,000 residents, according to Census data.

Other contested township and village races decided by Clark County voters included:

• Incumbents Nancy Brown and Don Minton were both re-elected as trustees in Bethel Twp., the largest township in Clark County with more than 18,500 residents.

RELATED: 5 things to know about Election 2017 results in Springfield

Brown finished with 44 percent of the vote, while Minton received 38 percent of the votes. Challenger Richard Reynolds finished with about 18 percent of the total vote.

Brown will start her fourth term in January, while Minton will begin his second term.

• In Mad River Twp., incumbents Bob McClure and Joe Catanzaro were re-elected to represent the more than 11,000 people there.

McClure and Catanzaro each finished with about 32 percent of the vote. Challenger Todd Pettit received 26 percent of the vote, while Mike Verbillion, the other challenger, received about 11 percent.

McClure has served on the board since 1998 and was re-elected to a sixth term. Catanzaro will begin his third term in January.

• Harmony Twp. incumbents Rick Delaney and Tom Troxell were each re-elected as trustees, beating challenger Ty Callicoat.

Delaney saw about 37 percent of the vote, while Troxell received 36 percent of the vote. Callicoat received 28 percent.

Delaney and Troxell will be serving their fifth and third terms, respectively.

• Four incumbents — Roger Davis, Warren Smith, John Schmid and Rhonda Sagraves — were all re-elected to the South Vienna village commission, beating challenger Charles Miller.

Davis was the leading vote-getter with about 23 percent of the votes.

• Incumbent Larry Durfey and newcomer Brad Taylor were elected to the South Charleston village council, beating former village council member Ken Larson.

About the Author