Congressional primaries: Cox, Davidson, Enoch and Miller declared winners

U.S. Rep. Warren Davidson, R-Troy, fended off an 8th District primary challenger Tuesday, while Amy Cox is the winner in the 10th Congressional District Democratic primary, according to final, unofficial results from the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

Vanessa Enoch won the Democratic primary for the 8th District, and Adam Miller won the Democratic primary for the 15th District.

10th District

Cox finished with 63.4% of the vote in a four-candidate race and in November will face U.S. Rep. Mike Turner, R-Dayton, who was unopposed in the GOP primary, according to unofficial results from the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

“While ‘Terrified Turner’ has been in Congress being the minion of a man indicted with 91 counts of felony charges, I’ve been meeting with his constituents who are all sick and tired of him brown-nosing with billionaires and ignoring the needs of the working class,” Cox said in a written statement. “He sold us out for fear that (former President Donald) Trump might tweet something mean about him. I look forward to taking his job in November.”

Turner has not responded to a request for comment.

The other Democrats in the 10th District race were David Esrati, who placed second with 21.7%, Tony Pombo, 9.2% and Joseph S. Kuzniar, 5.7%.

“I’m glad people had a choice,” said Esrati, who in 2022 unsuccessfully challenged Turner for the Congressional seat.

Cox was endorsed by the Ohio Democratic Party and works as an urban agriculture scientist at Guided by Mushrooms in New Lebanon. She previously ran unsuccessfully for the Ohio House in 2022 against Republican state Rep. Rodney Creech, R-West Alexandria.

An Eaton resident, Cox does not live in the 10th District, which includes Montgomery and Greene counties, as well as part of Clark County.

8th District

In the 8th District Republican primary, Davidson defeated Kay Rogers, the former Butler County auditor who pleaded guilty to bank and mail fraud in 2008.

“Thank you to OH-08 Republicans for the opportunity to continue serving as your member of Congress,” Davidson said in a written statement. “Let’s win in November! House, Senate, and White House.”

Davidson won 80% of the vote and Rogers had 20%, according to final, unofficial results from the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

Enoch won the three-way District 8 Democratic primary, claiming 72% of the vote.

“I’m humbled but grateful that the 8th Congressional District has put their faith and trust in me once again to be the nominee,” Enoch said Tuesday night. “But the real work begins right now. We have to beat Warren Davidson to ensure that we are able to protect our rights and our freedoms. Warren Davidson is not going to do that.”

Enoch, a public policy and business consultant, a Christian minister, and a community organizer, lost election races to Davidson in 2018, 2020 and 2022.

For the other Democratic primary candidates Nathaniel Hawkins had 17% and David Gelb had 11%.

District 8 includes Butler, Preble, Darke, and parts of Miami and Hamilton counties.

15th District

In District 15, Democrat Adam Miller won with 64% of the vote, according to final, unofficial results from the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

In November, Miller will challenge U.S. Rep. Mike Carey, R-Columbus, who was unopposed in the Republican primary.

Miller’s Democratic opponent, Zerqa Z. Abid, had 36% of the vote Tuesday.

The district includes all or part of six counties, including Franklin, Madison, Clark, Fayette, Miami and Shelby.

Other districts

District 1, which includes Warren County, has only one Republican and one Democrat on the March ballot, meaning both of them will advance and square off in the November election. The Democrat is incumbent U.S. Rep. Greg Landsman, D-Cincinnati, while the Republican challenger is Orlando Sonza.

U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Urbana, will face Democrat Tamie Wilson in the 4th District, which includes Champaign County and multiple counties to the north. Jordan was unopposed in his primary. Tamie Wilson unsuccessfully challenged Jordan in 2022. On Tuesday Wilson received 63.4% of the vote. Stephen Thomas had 36.6%, according to final, unofficial results from the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

Staff writers Sydney Dawes and Michael D. Pitman contributed to this report.

Follow @LynnHulseyDDN on Facebook, Instagram and X.

About the Author