WSU ‘83 title team, Finkel, Agler headed to hall of fame

Wright State University’s 1983 national championship men’s basketball team, Henry Finkel of the University of Dayton and former Wittenberg player of the year Brian Agler will be part of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Eight former players, fives coaches, an official and an administrator will be added to the hall in a ceremony in Columbus next May 17. Selections were recently made by former Ohio college All-Americans, NBA hall of famers, Ohio high school and college coaches and the OBHOF board of directors.

Under the late coach Ralph Underhill, WSU won the 1983 NCAA Division II title by beating District of Columbia 92-73 in the championship game at Springfield, Mass. That title team helped propel the program to D-I in 1991, which included the construction of the Ervin J. Nutter Center.

Agler was the starting point guard as a freshman for Wittenberg’s 1977 NCAA D-III national champions. He also was the Ohio Athletic Conference player of the year as a senior. He ended his playing career as the Tigers’ all-time leader in assists.

However, it was for coaching that Agler will be inducted. He won two championships with Columbus of the now-defunct American Basketball League in 1997 and ’98. As coach of Seattle in the WNBA, he led the Storm to the 2010 WNBA title.

Finkel, a 7-foot center, starred for the Flyers from 1963-66. He helped UD make two NCAA Sweet Sixteens. He played in the NBA for 10 years and was a member of the Boston Celtics’ 1974 title team.

Also to be inducted is the 2004 NCAA D-III national championship Wilmington College women’s team. In addition, Quakers coach Jerry Scheve also will enter the hall. Eleven of his 21 Wilmington teams have won at least 20 games, including that title team.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.