Smith, Davis, Cunningham named Dayton Flyers captains

Players voted on captains for 2016-17 season

Smith and Davis served as captains last season, along with Kendall Pollard, who’s now a senior forward, and Dyshawn Pierre, who finished his career with UD in March. Miller named those four captains himself not long after the end of the 2014-15 season.

Smith is a captain for a third season. He was a captain as a sophomore along with the team’s lone senior, Jordan Sibert.

Dayton started practice Monday and will play in public for the first time Oct. 22 in the Red and Blue Game at UD Arena.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.