Nartker, Perry share Miss Basketball award

Nartker and Perry, both four-year starters, were honored Tuesday night for their ability as leaders and for their productive final seasons. They are the co-winners of the Pam Evans Smith Miss Basketball Award at the Clark County basketball banquet at Wittenberg.

Nartker averaged 20 points a game, was a part of four winning seasons and finished second in school history with 1,817 points. She was named second team All-Southwest District in Division I. Nartker was a skilled post player for the Arrows, but was sometimes called upon to handle the ball in the backcourt on a talented team.

“By sixth grade I knew she had the potential to be special player,” Arrows coach Danielle Thomas said. “We’ll surely miss her next year.”

Thomas said she still gets calls from Division I basketball coaches, but Nartker will play volleyball at Lincoln Memorial in Tennessee.

“This is such an honor, and I’m thankful for the high school career I’ve had,” Nartker said.

Perry averaged 18 points a game and shot 40 percent from 3-point range. She was named third team All-Southwest District in Division IV. She scored 1,289 career points.

“I’m really proud of Lexie, and she’s really deserving of this award,” Bertemes said.

The Trojans started the season 2-5 after losing two top players before the season to knee injuries. Perry was called upon as the point guard to do even more than she has in the past, and the Trojans finished the season with a 14-4 run and fell just short in overtime of reaching the district final.

“It’s really important in basketball and life to learn to overcome adversity and not stop and take on the role of a leader,” Perry said.

The other nine players on the All-County basketball team are seniors Korynne Berner (Northwestern), Danielle Franklin (Tecumseh), Alyssa Garberich (Shawnee), Macey Hardy (Greenon) and Kaitlyn Moore (Northeastern); juniors Jamari McDavid (Kenton Ridge) and Abby Zerkle (Northwestern) and freshmen Mikala Morris (Kenton Ridge) and Corinne Thomas (Tecumseh).

The co-coaches of the year are Aaron Stewart of Northwestern and Danielle Thomas of Tecumseh. Stewart led the Warriors to a school-record 17 victories. Thomas’ team won 22 games, the Central Buckeye Conference Kenton Trail Division title and was a Division I district finalist.

The Southwest Ohio Officials Association sportsmanship awards for coaches went to Catholic Central’s Kim Jerger and Northeastern’s Cindy Erwin and Shawnee junior Desinique Parks who has battled injuries the past two years.

Northwestern’s Berner was awarded the Jim Murray Scholarship.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.