Mike Hartsock repots from Reds Sunday workout ahead of opening day.

Cincinnati Reds finalize roster for Opening Day

The Reds optioned catcher Ramon Cabrera and infielder/outfielder Jose Peraza to Triple-A Louisville and reassigned pitchers Dayan Diaz and Tim Melville to Louisville. They recalled outfielder Tyler Holt from Louisville and selected the contract of catcher/infielder Jordan Pacheco from Louisville.

Cincinnati designated outfielder Jake Cave for assignment and placed pitchers Anthony DeSclafani, John Lamb, Michael Lorenzen and Jon Moscot on the 15-day disabled list retroactive to March 25. They placed outfielder Yorman Rodriguez on the 15-day DL retroactive to March 27 and catcher Kyle Shipworth on the 15-day DL retroactive to March 31.

Here is the 25-man roster for the start of the 2016 season. Homer Bailey is expected to go on the DL on Monday and be replaced by a pitcher who will start the third game of the season Thursday.

Pitchers (12): Bailey; Caleb Cotham; Jumbo Diaz; J.J. Hoover; Raisel Iglesias; Ross Ohlendorf; Keyvius Sampson; Alfredo Simon; Dan Straily; Blake Wood; Tony Cingrani; Brandon Finnegan.

Catchers (3): Tucker Barnhart; Devin Mesoraco; and Pacheco.

Infielders (5): Zack Cozart; Ivan DeJesus Jr.; Brandon Phillips; Eugenio Suarez; Joey Votto.

Outfielders (5): Jay Bruce; Adam Duvall; Billy Hamilton; Holt; and Scott Schebler.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.