Justin McConnell of Springboro (sliding) was named D-I All-Ohio first team. Contributed photo by E.L. Hubbard

D-I All-Ohio baseball: Butler, Springboro, West players first team

Infielders Damon Dues (Vandalia Butler High School) and Justin McConnell (Springboro) were joined by pitcher Jake Kates (Lakota West) as first team All-Ohio baseball selections.

D-II: All-Ohio baseball teams

Area players named to the D-I second team were first baseman Matt Grossman (Vandalia Butler) and utility player Tyler Burley (Vandalia Butler), and outfielders Bryce Johnson (Lakota West) and Brennen Martin (Lakota West).

D-III: All-Ohio baseball teams

Selections were made by the Ohio High School Baseball Coaches Association.



Player of the year: Cael Baker, Gahanna Lincoln.

Coach of the year: Bill Gamble, Massillon Jackson.

D-IV: All-Ohio baseball teams

First team

Pitchers: Xavier Moore, Amherst Steele; Jake Kates, Lakota West; Sebastian Fabik, Cin. Moeller; Kyle Nicolas, Massillon Jackson.

Catchers: Cael Baker, Gahanna Lincoln; Trace Peterson, Medina.

First base: Trenton Gillison, Pickerington Central.

Infielders: Justin McConnell, Springboro; Christain Orr, Oregon Clay; Nick Northcut, Mason; Damon Dues, Vandalia Butler.

Outfielders: Brandon Horsley, Upper Arlington; Matt Kirk, Milford; Hayden Cartt, Grove City; Evan Brown, Anthony Wayne.

Utility: Tyler Brown, Olentangy Orange.

FINAL FOURS: State semifinal pairings

Second team

Pitchers: Connor Adams, Cle. St. Ignatius; Caden Mumaw, Zanesville; Evan Shawver, Amherst Steele.

Catchers: Dillon Dingler, Massillon Jackson; Joe Bubonics, Solon.

First base: Matt Grossman, Vandalia Butler; Chad Jones, Amherst Steele.

Infielders: Perry Bewley, Chardon; Cal Conley, Loveland; Michael Fleck, Toledo St. Johns; Mike Tsironis, Solon; Luke Waddell, Loveland.

Outfielders: Bryce Johnson, Lakota West; Riley Baumbick, Cle. St. Edward; Brennen Martin, Lakota West; Matt Walters, Pickerington Central.

Utility: Tyler Burley, Vandalia Butler.

Honorable mention: Brandon Mathis, Fairfield; Michael Canganelli, Mayfield; Ryan McCurry, Solon; Michael Clark, Lorain; Evan Miller, Harrison; Jack Elliott, Willoughby South; AJ Peter, Grove City; Nick Erwin, Grove City; Michael Ross, Marysville; Casey Maniglia, Solon; Drew Saunier, Springboro; Danny Martin, Tol. St. Francis de Sales; Nick Smith, Mentor; Tim Zeller, Mount Vernon.

FACEBOOK: For more high school sports you should like Marc Pendleton

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.