Wright State University will host the Science Olympiad National Tournament this week.

WSU to award thousands in scholarships to Science Olympiad winners

More than 5,000 people are expected to head to Wright State University on Friday for the 2017 Science Olympiad National Tournament.

RELATED: Ohio’s tenured faculty could face more scrutiny if state bill passes

The tournament will be held from May 19 through May 20 and WSU expects it will bring educators, students and parents from all 50 states as well as a team from Gifu High School in Japan.

Tournament winners will be offered scholarships to Wright State.

All official members of the first-place team in the middle school and high school divisions will each receive a $2,500 scholarship, renewable for four years, according to the university.

RELATED: Area college will be first in Ohio to allow concealed carry on campus

In both divisions, the university will also award $1,000 scholarships to the first-place winners of each individual event, also renewable for four years.

There are 46 events total and all awards are subject to admission requirements, according to Wright State. WSU hosted the tournament in 2013 as well.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.