No more warnings: Using phone while driving in Florida now results in tickets

Florida's Hands-Free Driving Law is ramping up.

As of New Year's Day, anyone caught holding a phone while driving will be issued a ticket.

The law went into effect in October, but drivers were only issued warnings. Now, they come with a price.

The minimum fine is $30, but doubles if you’re caught holding your phone while driving in a school or construction zone. A second violation within five years carries a $60 fine and adds three points to your license.

About the Author