Coronavirus: Ohioans warned against travel to 7 states

An updated travel advisory warned Ohioans against visiting to seven states with high coronavirus testing rates.

Six of the states were included on the travel advisory issued last week: Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Mississippi fell off the travel advisory and Wyoming was added.

The advisory includes both business and leisure travel, and applies to both Ohioans and out-of-state visitors, according to the Ohio Department of Health.

The advisory is based on a seven-day average of each state’s positivity rate and includes any state with a rate of 15% or higher.

South Dakota has the highest positivity rate at 23.4% with Idaho following at 23.2%, according to the ODH.

Ohio’s positivity rate is 3%.

Anyone traveling from the states on the travel advisory should quarantine for 14 days. If a fever or any symptoms of coronavirus develop, call your healthcare provider.

About the Author