breaking news

Clark County continue massive clean up of new park, gorge

Kennard, Copeland, Hoying, Ketron earn top honors

Luke Kennard of Franklin, Vayante Copeland of Thurgood Marshall and Coldwater’s Brody Hoying were named All-Ohio football players of the year by the Associated Press on Tuesday.

Valley View’s Kris Ketron shared coach of the year honors.

Kennard, a junior quarterback, was a Division III tri-offensive player of the year. He completed 162 of 276 passes for 2,145 yards, 26 touchdowns and just five interceptions in the regular season.

Copeland was a triple receiving, rushing and return threat who also excelled on defense. He was the D-III co-defensive player of the year. He rushed for 1,203 yards and scored 16 touchdowns. He has verbally committed to Michigan State.

Hoying, a junior quarterback, has led defending state champion Coldwater (12-2) into this week’s D-V state title game against Columbus Bishop Hartley at Massillon.

The D-V offensive player of the year, Hoying leads the Cavaliers with 1,477 yards rushing and 27 TDs. He’s also thrown for 1,730 yards and another 20 scores.

Ketron guided the Spartans to a 9-1 regular season (10-2 overall) to earn D-IV coach of the year honors.

Trotwood-Madison (11-2), which will play for a D-III state title this week, landed three first-team selections in senior center Clem Vinegar and defensive linemen Ryan Reese and Verondtae Wilkinson.

Other area D-III first-teamers were Jeff Van Zant of Springfield Shawnee, Tippecanoe’s Jacob Hall and Cameron Johnson and Thurgood’s Landon Brazile.

D-IV area first-team choices were Max Oakes of Northwestern, Alter’s Joe Sprauer and Valley View’s Shane Hannah.

Joining Hoying as first-teamers in D-V were Coldwater teammates Mitch Schoenherr and Adam Klosterman. Milton-Union’s Wesley Martin also made it as did Jacob Harrison of Chaminade Julienne.

The teams were based on recommendations of a state media panel. Divisions VI-VII will be released today as will Mr. Football.

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Stephenson, Scooter lift Reds to 11-8 win over Braves
Stephenson, Scooter lift Reds to 11-8 win over Braves

Julio Teheran still considers himself to be Atlanta’s ace, even if his numbers suggest otherwise. “Yeah, that’s the spot I want to be in hopefully for my whole career,” he said. “That doesn’t mean I won’t have ups and downs. We’re all human. We all make mistakes.” Scooter Gennett hit a grand slam...
7 things to know about Bengals loss to Chiefs
7 things to know about Bengals loss to Chiefs

There weren’t a lot of positives to come out of Saturday night’s preseason game at Paul Brown Stadium. Not only did the Cincinnati Bengals defense surrender scores on the first five Kansas City possessions, including four touchdown drives in a row, the offense failed to reach the end zone in a 30-12 loss. »RELATED: Chiefs QBs light...
HS Results 8/19: Springboro opens season with shutout win

The Springboro girls soccer team started the season on a winning note with a 1-0 win over Bearden (TN) at the Bearden High School Invitational on Saturday. Liv Page tallied the game-winner off an Alex Garver assist with 28 minutes to play in the second half. Keeper Kristy Catrine posted the shutout with five saves. Boro continues play in the tournament...
H.S. football: New coach, new conference for Greenon

After he was hired to coach the Greenon High School football team in February, one of the first things Josh Wooten did was find his “yes” men. Well, in a manner of speaking. Wooten presented potential coaching hires with four questions: Can I trust you? Do you love Greenon? Do you love our community? Do you love our kids? “If your...
Chiefs QBs light up Bengals defense in 30-12 rout
Chiefs QBs light up Bengals defense in 30-12 rout

The Cincinnati Bengals lost starting safety Shawn Williams to a right elbow injury in addition to losing track of numerous Kansas City wide receivers Saturday night as three Chiefs quarterbacks steered a rout at Paul Brown Stadium. Kansas City scored on its first five possessions, the last four of which resulted in touchdowns as the Chiefs whipped...
More Stories