You have reached your limit of free articles this month.

Enjoy unlimited access to

Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks.


  • ePAPER

You have read of premium articles.

Get unlimited access to all of our breaking news, in-depth coverage and interactive features. Starting at just 99c for 8 weeks.


Welcome to

Your source for Clark and Champaign counties’ hometown news. All readers have free access to a limited number of stories every month.

If you are a News-Sun subscriber, please take a moment to login for unlimited access.

Miller, Hyde earn Big Ten honors

Ohio State’s Braxton Miller was named quarterback of the year in the Big Ten for the second straight season, and teammate Carlos Hyde was named the conference’s top running back Monday.

The Buckeyes had eight players named first team All-Big Ten by either the coaches or media. Michigan State had the second-most selections with six.

Miller has completed 65.7 percent of his passes for 1,759 yards and 21 touchdowns with five interceptions. Despite missing nearly three full games with a knee injury, the junior from Wayne High School has rushed for 891 yards and eight TDs.

Hyde, a 6-foot, 230-pound senior, has rushed for 1,290 yards and 14 TDs since returning to the Buckeyes from a three-game suspension. He’s averaging 7.8 yards per carry.

The Buckeyes rank second in the nation in rushing (321.3 yards per game), third in scoring (48.2 points per game) and sixth in total offense (530.5).

Senior center Corey Linsley, junior linebacker Ryan Shazier and junior cornerback Bradley Roby also were named first team all-league by the coaches. Miller, Hyde, Linsley, Roby, Shazier, senior tackle Jack Mewhort, senior guard Andrew Norwell and sophomore defensive end Noah Spence made the media first team.

OSU defensive tackle Michael Bennett, a junior from Centerville, was selected to the second team by the coaches and media, while safety C.J. Barnett, a senior from Northmont, was named honorable mention All-Big Ten.

Wisconsin’s Chris Borland, a senior from Alter, was picked as the league’s top linebacker in what figured to be a close race. Shazier, who is first in the league in tackles (122) and tackles for loss (21.0), has better stats, but Borland (102 tackles, 8.5 TFLs) is considered the heart of a higher-ranked defense.

All six of Michigan State’s first-team picks were on defense, including defensive lineman of the year Shilique Calhoun and defensive back of the year Darqueze Dennard. The unit is ranked first nationally in total defense (237.7 yards per game) and rushing defense (64.8) and fourth in points allowed (11.8).

Indiana receiver Cody Latimer, a junior from Jefferson, was named second-team all-league by the media. MSU linebacker Denicos Allen, a senior from Hamilton, was named second-team all-conference by the coaches and media.

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Rogers, Bowser provide Sidney football a recruiting surge
Rogers, Bowser provide Sidney football a recruiting surge

Sidney High School football continues to assert itself as an emerging Greater Western Ohio Conference presence with the verbal commitment of two highly regarded seniors. Running back Isaiah Bowser committed to Northwestern University on Friday and was followed the next day by defensive tackle Devan Rogers, who pledged to the University of Toledo. They...
Reds lose to Cardinals; Finnegan injured in return off DL
Reds lose to Cardinals; Finnegan injured in return off DL

Randal Grichuk and Jedd Gyorko each homered and drove in three runs, leading the St. Louis Cardinals over the Cincinnati Reds 8-2 on Monday. It was a makeup for an April 29 game that was postponed because of severe weather. Grichuk hit his second homer in two games since being recalled from Triple-A. The two-run drive in the fourth inning was his sixth...
Reds’ Arroyo confirms his career is probably over
Reds’ Arroyo confirms his career is probably over

Bronson Arroyo confirmed Monday what Cincinnati Reds fan have suspected since his postgame comments following his start against the Los Angeles Dodgers on June 18. In an interview Monday with Jim Day, of Fox Sports Ohio during Monday afternoon’s game vs. the St. Louis Cardinals,  Arroyo was asked if that was the last appearance of his...
City Kings sweep Prospect League weekly honors

The Champion City Kings swept the Prospect League Player and Pitcher of the Week honors, the league announced Monday. Tanner Burns (University of Alabama-Huntsville) is the player of the week and Connor Curtis (Ohio State) is the pitcher of the week. Burns, of Harvest, Ala., hit .500 (11-for-2) with three doubles, a home run and six RBIs in six games...
Recruiting roundup: 2 more area players pick Big Ten schools
Recruiting roundup: 2 more area players pick Big Ten schools

Two more pairs of teammates have announced where they are going to play their college football since our last recruiting roundup.  Mason offensive lineman Eric Miller got it started June 17 when he announced he will play in the Big Ten at Purdue.  New Boilermakers coach Jeff Brohm has 14 commits already, including three players from Ohio...
More Stories