How Congress voted last week

Readers have told us they want to know how local and Ohio members of the U.S. House and Senate are voting on major issues. In most Monday editions, we will publish a list of votes.


Local southwest Ohio members in bold.

HR 1120 – A bill that would require the National Labor Relations Board to stop all work until the Senate confirms all five members of its board. Conservatives have argued that court rulings have indicated that President Barack Obama’s three recess appointments to the board violate the Constitution. The White House said it would veto the bill if it were sent to the White House.

PASSED: 219-209


Yes: Chabot, Gibbs, Johnson, Jordan, Latta, Renacci, Stivers, Tiberi, Turner and Wenstrup.

No: Joyce.


Yes: Beatty, Fudge, Kaptur, and Ryan.

* As speaker, John Boehner does not customarily vote.


S 649 – A bill to impose new restrictions on the sale of guns. A cloture vote was needed to end delaying tactics and allow floor debate to begin. By voting yes, a senator wanted to bring the bill to the floor, a no vote was designed to kill the measure.


Yes: Sherrod Brown (D)

No: Rob Portman (R)

Contact information for local lawmakers

Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

To send an email, go to

Washington, DC office

713 Hart Senate Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20510

tel (202) 224-2315

fax (202) 228-6321

Cincinnati Office

425 Walnut St., Suite 2310

Cincinnati, OH 45202

Phone: (513) 684-1021

Fax: (513) 684-1029

Toll Free 1-888-896-OHIO (6446)

Sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio

To send an email, go to

Washington, DC office

338 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

Phone: (202) 224-3353

Cincinnati Office

312 Walnut St.

Suite 3075

Cincinnati, OH 45202

Phone: (513) 684-3265

Rep. John Boehner, R-West Chester Twp.

Represents the 8th District which includes Clark, Miami, Butler, Preble, Darke and Mercer counties.

To send an email, go to

Butler County office

7969 Cincinnati-Dayton Road

Suite B

West Chester, OH 45069

Phone: (513) 779-5400

Miami County office

12 South Plum Street

Troy, OH 45373

Phone: (937) 339-1524

Clark County office

76 East High Street

3rd Floor

Springfield, OH 45502

(937) 322-1120

Washington, DC office

1011 Longworth H.O.B.

Washington, DC 20515

Phone (202) 225-6205,

Residents of the 8th District

of Ohio may use the toll-free number: (800) 582-1001

Rep. Steve Chabot: R-Cincinnati

Represents the 1st District which includes Warren County.

To send an email, go to

Washington DC office

2371 Rayburn House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

Phone: (202) 225-2216

Fax: (202) 225-3012

Rep. Jim Jordan: R-Urbana

Represents the 4th District which includes Champaign, Shelby, Logan, Auglaize and other counties.

To send and email, go to

Washington, DC office

1524 Longworth House Office Bldg

Washington, D.C. 20515

Phone: (202) 225-2676

Fax (202) 226-0577

Lima office

3121 West Elm Plaza

Lima, OH 45805

Phone: (419) 999-6455

Fax (419) 999-4238

Rep. Mike Turner: R-Dayton

Represents the 10th District which includes Montgomery, Greene and Fayette counties.

To send an email, go to

Washington, DC office

2239 Rayburn Building

Washington, DC 20515

Phone: (202) 225-6465

Fax: (202) 225-6754

Dayton office

120 West Third Street,

Suite. 305

Dayton, OH 45402

Phone: (937) 225-2843

Fax: (937) 225-2752

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Homepage