Springfield jr. Raheim Moss addresses a 77-60 defeat of Springboro in a boys D-I high school basketball sectional semifinal at Centerville on Tue., Feb. 27, 2018. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Springfield, Triad players on first team; Central coach of the year

Springfield junior RaHeim Moss and Triad senior Hadley LeVan both were named first team in their respective divisions and Catholic Central’s Cody Sarensen was a coach of the year in the All-Southwest District boys basketball teams that were released on Friday.

Area second-team selections were Springfield senior Leonard Taylor (Division I), and Cedarville sophomore Colby Cross and Central junior Sabien Doolittle (both D-IV).

»RELATED: Trotwood coaching by committee

Area players chosen third team were senior Jameel Cosby of Kenton Ridge (D-II), Greeneview senior Mason Schneider (D-III) and junior Trey Dunn of Central (D-IV).

Moss has had a breakout season for the Wildcats. A 6-foot-4 high-flier has more than 40 dunks and he leads the team in scoring (16.2). He’s also a big reason why Springfield (20-4) will play Cincinnati Elder (14-11) in a D-I district final at 9 p.m. Saturday at the University of Dayton Arena.

Springfield’s RaHeim Moss (with ball) is blocked by Centerville’s Alec Grandin (12). Centerville defeated visiting Springfield 50-48 in a boys high school basketball game on Friday, Feb. 2, 2018. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

»RELATED: 3 area girls earn top Southwest District honors

Moss’ recruitment has taken off. Wright State, Northern Kentucky, Ohio State, Miami, Dayton and others all have targeted him.

LeVan (25.3 points) was the Ohio Heritage Conference player of the year and was first team in D-IV. The 6-3 senior tallied 30 points or more six times, including a career high 51 against West Jefferson this season. He’s also Triad’s all-time career scorer with 1,500-plus points.

»RELATED: Dunbar wins court decision and sectional title

Sarensen led the Irish to a 19-3 regular-season record and an OHC South Division title. Central (21-3) played Ripley Union-Lewis (17-8) in a D-IV district final at UD on Friday.

Area players chosen honorable mention were:

»RELATED: Carroll can’t find its offense vs. Hughes

D-II: Nasiim McKay, Kenton Ridge; Brevan King, Graham; Aaron Schack, Shawnee; and Levi Boettcher and Jace Underwood, Urbana.

D-III: Trevor Burden and James Loffing, West Liberty-Salem.

»RELATED: Boys district final schedule/results

D-IV: Mykah Eichie, Jake Woeber, Catholic Central; Charlie Bertemes, Owen Flannery, Southeastern; Briley Harlan, Triad; and Kam Young, Mechanicsburg.

Players were nominated by coaches and chosen by a media panel representing the Southwest District. Players will be considered for All-Ohio honors and Mr. Basketball. The girls All-Southwest District teams were announced on Thursday.

»FACEBOOK: For more high school sports you should like Marc Pendleton

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.