WATCH: The Patriots won a game on the exact same catch Jesse James made

Pittsburgh Steelers tight end Jesse James thought he caught a game-winning touchdown against the New England Patriots, but the ball moved when it touched the ground, so the refs reviewed it and overturned the call. The catch rule says that a player has to fully control the ball through the ground, and they said he didn’t.

Even if fans were starting to stomach that – just ask the Detroit Lions and the Dallas Cowboys how it feels – new video has come to light that makes it even worse.

“This was the Patriots’ game-winning touchdown catch against the Texans earlier this season,” wrote Christopher Carter of DK Pittsburgh Sports. “Was called a catch live and after review. Cooks comes down to the ground and loses control of the ball as it touches the ground. Seems relevant considering the Steelers and Jesse James.”

Here’s the video:

What makes this even more brutal is that, as with all scoring plays, they did review this one. And they still said it counted, even though the ball is clearly moving – just like it was for James.

This isn’t to say that the NFL got it right that time. Perhaps they got it right with James and blew the call against the Texans, and maybe they’d admit it. If that’s the case, it doesn’t change the situation that took place last night.

However, it does at least show that there isn’t consistency. These calls have now gone two very different directions, and they won the game for the Patriots both times.

The post WATCH: The Patriots won a game on the exact same catch Jesse James made appeared first on All 22.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.

X