Brett Favre, former Green Bay Packers quarterback, speaks during the retirement ceremony for his #4 jersey at Lambeau Field on November 26, 2015 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. On Saturday, February 6, 2016, officials announced he was chosen as one of the 2016 inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. (Photo by Kena Krutsinger/Getty Images)
Photo: Kena Krutsinger
Photo: Kena Krutsinger

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 2016 inductees

Eight new names will go into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the group's selection committee announced Saturday.

The inductees include quarterback Brett Favre, formerly with the Atlanta Falcons, Green Bay Packers, New York Jets and Minnesota Vikings, and coach Tony Dungy, known for leading the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Indianapolis Colts to some of their most successful seasons.

>> Read more trending stories

On Saturday, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Selection Committee met in downtown San Francisco to finalize its list of inductees. The eight men were chosen from a list of 18 finalists.

The inductees are: Favre, Dungy, owner Edward DeBartolo Jr., linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, tackle Orlando Pace, quarterback Ken Stabler and guard Dick Stanfel.

Stabler and Stanfel were chosen by the seniors committee, which honors players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago, according to the committee.

The contributor committee, which aims to shine a light on officials, owners and other groups historically neglected by the committee, chose to honor five-time Super Bowl-winning former San Francisco 49ers owner DeBartolo. Described as a “players' owner,” DeBartolo owned the San Francisco 49ers from 1977 to 2000.

"Could you ask for a better script?" DeBartolo asked reporters in San Francisco. "It’s the 50th Super Bowl and it’s in the Bay Area where you made your contribution to this great sport. Did I think that it was too good to be true? I certainly did. But like I said, it’s almost like somebody scripted it."

The inductees will be officially enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in a ceremony at the Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio, on Aug. 6.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.