Washington State’s massively new 2018 coaching staff

Mike Leach will be Washington State’s head coach for the seventh season, the third-longest tenured coach in the Pac-12. The same can’t be said for his coaching staff, which for 2018 will have a very different look from the year before.

On Monday the school officially announced the addition of four new assistants: offensive line coach Mason Miller, special teams coach Matt Brock, outside receivers coach Steve Spurrier Jr. and strength and conditioning coach Tyson Brown. Brown was the Cougars’ assistant strength coach in 2017 but had left to run FCS school Elon’s strength program before coming back to WSU.

That quartet joins three other first-year coaches at WSU: defensive coordinator Tracy Claeys, cornerbacks coach Darcel McBath and safeties coach Kendrick Shavers.

Only four assistants from the 2017 season remain on staff, two in the same role: Ken Wilson enters his sixth season as linebackers coach and Jeff Phelps heads into his second year in charge of the defensive line while third-year assistant Dave Nichol takes over inside receivers after handling outside receivers last year and fourth-year coach Eric Mele moves from special teams to running backs.

Since the 2017 season ended WSU saw defensive coordinator/secondary coach Alex Grinch leave for Ohio State, outside linebackers coach Roy Manning and inside receiver coach Derek Sage take jobs with UCLA, running backs coach Jim Mastro go to Oregon, offensive line coach Clay McGuire depart for Texas Tech and head strength coach Jason Loscalzo leave for an NFL job with the Chicago Bears.

The post Washington State’s massively new 2018 coaching staff appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.