Three Big Ten defensive backs are Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists

marcus allen-grant haley-denzel ward-jim thrope award-big ten

Penn State’s Grant Haley and Marcus Allen and Ohio State’s Denzel Ward are Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists, which were announced Monday. The award is given out annually to the best defensive back in college football.

Penn State’s Marcus Allen, Grant Haley honored

Allen, a senior safety from Upper Marlboro, Md., has forced two fumbles this season and made his first-career interception against Georgia State on Sept. 16. He also ranks second on the team in tackles (44), which includes 22 solo tackles and 4.0 tackles for loss.

Haley has 19 tackles and is second on the team with 2 interceptions and 6 pass breakups. USA Today and the All-American named Haley, a senior cornerback from Atlanta, to their respective Midseason All-American lists.


Ohio State CB Denzel Ward makes Thorpe semifinal list

Ward has continued to impress as a junior after earning honorable mention All-Big Ten a season ago. The Buckeyes cornerback has 20 tackles (15 solo),  9 passes defended and an interception. He’s helped Ohio State win 6 of its first 7 games this season.

All three standouts will be on the same field Saturday afternoon in Columbus, Ohio. The Buckeyes and Nittany Lions face off at 3:30 ET.

The post Three Big Ten defensive backs are Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.