TCU men’s basketball completes first regular season sweep of Baylor since 1989

TCU Horned Frogs-TCU basketball-sweeps Baylor-20 wins-march madness

TCU men’s basketball recorded its first regular-season sweep of Baylor in nearly 30 years on Saturday with an 82-72 win over the Bears in Fort Worth.

The Horned Frogs most recently achieved the feat during the 1989 season. Both teams were in the now defunct Southwest Conference at the time.

TCU has now reached 20 wins this season and has a three-game win streak in Big 12 play for the first time all year. The win likely has the Horned Frogs set to compete in the upcoming NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1998.

TCU shot 54 percent from the field in the triumph and went 7 for 19 from beyond the arc. Horned Frogs guard Alex Robinson posted a game-high 22 points and 6 assists.

No moment, however, may have stood out more than a block in the second half from TCU point guard Desmond Bane on Baylor forward Terry Maston.

And the Horned Frogs never looked back en route to their third straight Saturday home-win of the season — now anticipating a long-awaited trip to this year’s edition of March Madness next month.

Fans and media members took to Twitter to both celebrate and offer up commentary on the impressive turnaround for TCU that has taken place ever since Jamie Dixon arrived as the team’s coach in 2016.

TCU has a home game remaining vs. Kansas State on Tuesday night before concluding the regular season at Texas Tech on March 3. The Big 12 Championship Tournament will begin on March 7 at Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo.

The post TCU men’s basketball completes first regular season sweep of Baylor since 1989 appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.