South Carolina football: 2017 permanent team captains elected

According to John Whittle of TheBigSpur, the South Carolina football team has elected its four permanent team captains for the 2017 season.

Senior linebacker Skai Moore, junior tight end Hayden Hurst, sophomore quarterback Jake Bentley and sophomore ‘Buck’ D.J. Wonnum received the honors.

Moore, who leads the Gamecocks in tackles (88) and interceptions (3), has also recorded 8 tackles for loss and 2 sacks this season.

RELATED: Looking back at the 2017 injuries

Like Moore, Hurst will be off to the NFL following the Outback Bowl against Michigan. The former walk-on wide receiver has caught 41 passes for 518 yards and 2 touchdowns this season. He also landed a permanent team captain nod in 2016.

Bentley’s passed for 2,555 yards with 16 touchdowns and 11 interceptions this season. He’s also rushed for a team-high 6 touchdowns.

Wonnum, a first-year starter, leads South Carolina in sacks (6) and tackles for loss (13).

The Gamecocks report to Tampa, Fla. for the Outback Bowl on Dec. 26. Practice for the second bowl game under coach Will Muschamp began on Saturday.

Reporters will meet with Muschamp on Wednesday afternoon at 4, to preview the bowl game and look at how South Carolina fared during early signing period. Players will meet with the media on Thursday.

The post South Carolina football: 2017 permanent team captains elected appeared first on SEC Country.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.