Seven Pac-12 players make midseason Naismith Award watch list

The Atlanta Tipoff Club released the new, trimmed-down list of players in consideration for the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year award, and nearly one-fourth of the list is made up of Pac-12 players.

The conference tied with the Southeastern Conference for the most selections to the 30-woman list, announced Monday. Three of the seven hail from schools in Oregon: Ducks forward Ruthy Hebard and guard Sabrina Ionescu and Oregon State center Marie Gulich.

Hebard and Ionescu are each in the top three in scoring in the Pac-12, with Ionescsu leading the conference with 19.4 points per game.

UCLA featured two players on the list: forward Monique Billings and guard Jordin Canada. Billings leads the conference in rebounds with 9.4 per game, with Gulich just behind her in second with 9.0 boards per contest to go along with her 16-point scoring average.

Cal forward/center Kristine Anigwe and Stanford guard Brittany McPhee round out the seven from the conference.

The Atlantic Coast Conference was next closest with five selections, followed by the Big Ten and American Athletic conferences, which each boasted four. The Big 12 rounded things out with three nominees.

The post Seven Pac-12 players make midseason Naismith Award watch list appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.