Scott Drew would vote Chris Beard as Big 12 Coach of the Year

Not many expected Texas Tech to make a run at the Big 12 championship, making coach Chris Beard’s job in Lubbock, Texas, this season all the more impressive.

He and Baylor coach Scott Drew have helped strengthen the Big 12 Conference and made the league one of the most competitive in the country.

Drew has done an incredible job turning his team’s season around since the start of February. And he should receive ample Big 12 Coach of the Year consideration.

His vote for the award would go to Beard, however, if the season ended today.

“If I made a decision today, there are several choices. But Chris Beard, what he’s done would get my vote,” Drew said during a media teleconference on Thursday. “As far as where you’re predicted in the preseason, there was Kansas, West Virginia a lot of people thought they would be two of the top teams. After that, it was anyone’s guess who would finish where because there was so much parity and balance.”

Texas Tech was 18-14 overall and 6-12 in conference play a season ago. The Red Raiders missed the NCAA Tournament and were knocked out of the Big 12 tournament on Day 1.

This year, Texas Tech is one game out of first place in the Big 12 standings with a 22-6 record (10-5 Big 12) and ranked No. 6 in the country as March approaches.

Baylor is 17-11 with a 7-8 record in conference action. The Bears were able to knock off Texas Tech last Saturday, as well as beat Kansas the week before.

Both coaches have done incredible jobs and should be the frontrunners for the 2017-18 Big 12 Coach of the Year award.

The post Scott Drew would vote Chris Beard as Big 12 Coach of the Year appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.