3 Pac-12 players named to CBS Sports’ All-America First Team

CBS Sports released its 2017 All-America teams on Tuesday, with three Pac-12 players earning First Team nods while two more made it onto the Second Team.

Bryce Love, the Stanford running back and Heisman Trophy finalist, was one of just two unanimous First Team offensive selections — Heisman winner Baker Mayfield was the other.

Washington State defensive lineman Hercules Mata’afa was selected to the First Team defense, while Dante Pettis of Washington earned First Team special teams honors as a returner.

2017 CBS Sports All-America First Team

*  indicates a unanimous selection

QB Baker Mayfield* Oklahoma Redshirt senior
RB Bryce Love* Stanford Junior
RB Rashaad Penny San Diego State Senior
WR James Washington Oklahoma State Senior
WR David Sills V West Virginia Junior
TE Mark Andrews Oklahoma Redshirt junior
C Frank Ragnow Arkansas Senior
OL Orlando Brown Oklahoma Redshirt junior
OL Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame Graduate
OL Quenton Nelson Notre Dame Senior
OL Braden Smith Auburn Senior
DL Bradley Chubb* NC State Senior
DL Ed Oliver Houston Sophomore
DL Hercules Mata’afa Washington State Redshirt junior
DL Maurice Hurst Michigan Senior
LB Roquan Smith* Georgia Junior
LB Josey Jewell Iowa Redshirt senior
LB Ogbonnia Okoronkwo Oklahoma Redshirt senior
CB Joshua Jackson Iowa Redshirt junior
CB Denzel Ward Ohio State Junior
S Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama Junior
S Derwin James Florida State Redshirt sophomore
K Daniel Carlson Auburn Redshirt senior
P Michael Dixon Texas Senior
KR Tony Pollard* Memphis Redshirt sophomore
PR Dante Pettis* Washington Senior
AP Saquon Barkley Penn State Junior

The Pac-12 got two more honorees on the Second Team — Washington State offensive lineman Cody O’Connell and Utah kicker Matt Gay.

2017 CBS Sports All-America Second Team

QB Lamar Jackson Louisville Junior
RB Saquon Barkley Penn State Junior
RB Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin Freshman
WR Anthony Miller Memphis Redshirt senior
WR Michael Gallup Colorado State Senior
TE Adam Breneman Massachusetts Redshirt senior
C Billy Price Ohio State Redshirt senior
OL Cody O’Connell Washington State Redshirt senior
OL Dalton Risner Kansas State Redshirt junior
OL Will Hernandez UTEP Redshirt senior
OL Will Richardson NC State Redshirt junior
DL Nick Bosa Ohio State Sophomore
DL Sutton Smith Northern Illinois Redshirt sophomore
DL Christian Wilkins Clemson Junior
DL Clelin Farrell Clemson Redshirt sophomore
LB Micah Kiser Virginia Redshirt senior
LB Joe Giles-Harris Duke Redshirt sophomore
LB Jeff Holland Auburn Junior
CB Duke Dawson Florida Senior
CB Nick Nelson Wisconsin Redshirt junior
S DeShon Elliott Texas Junior
S Jaquan Johnson Miami Junior
K Matt Gay Utah Senior
P Johnny Townsend Florida Redshirt senior
KR Mike Hughes UCF Junior
PR Greg Stroman Virginia Tech Senior
AP Rashaad Penny San Diego State Senior

The post 3 Pac-12 players named to CBS Sports’ All-America First Team appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.