Oklahoma State commit Spencer Sanders named Mr. Texas Football

Every year, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football honors the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas with the “Mr. Texas Football” award. This year’s winner is Spencer Sanders, a dual threat quarterback committed to Oklahoma State.

DCTF Managing Editor Greg Tepper announced the award on Texas Football Today.

Former winners of the award include Texas’ Garrett Gilbert and Jonathan Gray, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, Texas Tech’s Jett Duffey, and Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel.

Sanders is the jewel in the crown of Oklahoma State’s class of 2018. The dynamic quarterback has torn everyone apart at the high school level for the past two years before having his season ended in the state semifinals by Highland Park twice in a row. In the past two years at Denton Ryan, Sanders was a combined 28-2 in 30 total games. The pair of losses came by a combined 17 points.

Sanders will receive the honor during the Texas Bowl on December 27th.

The post Oklahoma State commit Spencer Sanders named Mr. Texas Football appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.