Jesse James had the game-winning catch vs. the Patriots until it was shockingly overturned

jesse james-pittsburgh steelers

Was it a catch?

That question will be asked on every sports related show you will see on Monday. The catch rule, which has created consistent controversial calls over the years, has reared its ugly head again.

On Sunday, in a battle for the No. 1-seed in the AFC between the New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers, the Steelers were driving while trailing by 3 points with 0:28 remaining. Ben Roethlisberger threw a 9-yard pass to former Penn State TE Jesse James from the 10-yard line and James — after appearing to have made the catch — reached out the ball to try and score a touchdown.

Unfortunately for James and Steelers, the ruling on the field was called a touchdown, but led to a review. Did James have control of the ball as it juggled inside the end-zone when he had already broken the plane?

Regardless, the process of the catch was ruled to have not been fully completed, resulting in an incompletion.

Take a look:

Just two plays later, with 5 seconds left, Roethlisberger chose not to spike the ball and give the Steelers a chance at tying the Patriots with a short field goal and sending the game to overtime. Instead, he attempted a no-huddle play that resulted in a pass being intercepted.

The Patriots won the game, 27-24, and are now the top seed in the AFC.

Let the controversy begin.

The post Jesse James had the game-winning catch vs. the Patriots until it was shockingly overturned appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.