James Washington becomes seventh unanimous All-American in Oklahoma State history

In 2017, James Washington was the definition of All-American.

Washington became the seventh unanimous All-American in Oklahoma State history Tuesday. He made the first team for all five of the nationally recognized All-American lists: Associated Press, Sporting News, Football Writers Association of America, Walter Camp Football Foundation and American Football Coaches Association.

Washington also won the 2017 Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes the nation’s top pass-catcher. He leads the FBS with 1,423 receiving yards and also scored 12 touchdowns. The nation’s best deep threat, Washington averaged 20.6 yards a catch.

Washington was the first Cowboy to win the Biletnikoff Award since Justin Blackmon took home the honor in both 2010 and 2011. Oklahoma State is the only program to win the Biletnikoff Award three times.

Blackmon was also the Cowboys’ most recent unanimous All-American before Washington. Blackmon was a unanimous All-American in 2010 and 2011.

Oklahoma State’s other unanimous All-Americans were running back Terry Miller in 1977, defensive end Leslie O’Neal in 1985, running back Barry Sanders in 1988 and offensive tackle Russell Okung in 2009.

Washington will conclude his Oklahoma State career Dec. 28 against Virginia Tech in the Camping World Bowl in Orlando, Fla. He needs 69 yards in the game to break Rashaun Woods’ program record in that category. Washington will then play in the 2018 Reese’s Senior Bowl in January.

The post James Washington becomes seventh unanimous All-American in Oklahoma State history appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.