Iowa’s Hayden Fry to receive Legends Award from National Football Foundation

Iowa coaching icon Hayden Fry is receiving a prestigious lifetime honor from the National Football Foundation. Fry was picked as the recipient of the 2018 Legends Award from the Gridiron Club of Dallas, the NFF announced Tuesday.

In addition to leading the Hawkeyes to 143 wins and three Big Ten titles in 20 seasons, Fry was a head coach at SMU and North Texas and also a quarterback at Baylor.

Hayden Fry to receive 2018 Legends Award from National Football Foundation

“Though many nationally know him for his time as Iowa’s head coach, Hayden Fry’s impact on the game of football in North Texas cannot be understated,” Gerald Brence, president of the NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Chapter and athletics director for the Plano Independent School District, said in a press release. “He led huge turnarounds as the head coach at North Texas and SMU, where he also made history recruiting Jerry LeVias and helping to integrate the old Southwest Conference. Few embody the word legend like Hayden Fry, and we are thrilled to honor him with this award.”

According to the NFF, the honor is handed out “to a former athletics director or coach who has made significant contributions to the game of football, either in the manner in which it is played and watched or the manner in which it is enjoyed by spectator.”

Fry, 88, retired after the 1998 season as Kirk Ferentz took over in Iowa City. With a win in the 2017 Pinstripe Bowl, Ferentz matched Fry’s win total at Iowa.

Fry will receive the award during a ceremony on March 18.

The post Iowa’s Hayden Fry to receive Legends Award from National Football Foundation appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.