Iowa announces team awards: Josey Jewell, Akrum Wadley named MVPs

On Sunday afternoon, the Iowa Hawkeyes held its annual awards banquet.

Winning the Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Players for the team were LB Josey Jewell and RB Akrum Wadley. Both Jewell and Wadley are seniors.

Hawkeyes signal caller Nate Stanley, OL Sean Welsh, Jewell, DB Josh Jackson and LB Kevin Ward were five team captains that were announced. Jewell is the only player under coach Kirk Ferentz who has been a permanent captain for three years.

Jewell has won and been nominated for numerous prestigious awards so far in 2017. The senior play-maker on defense has 426 career tackles, which ranks fifth in Hawkeyes history. He is also the third player in program history to record at least 115 tackles in three different seasons.

Wadley led the team in rushing this season with 1,021 yards and is the fourth Hawkeye to rush for at least 1,000 yards in consecutive seasons. He ranks fifth in program history in rushing.

Jackson has been quite the play-maker for Iowa this season as his 7 interceptions is tied for the nation’s best. He also leads the country in passes defended with 25. Jackson was also deemed a first team All-America by the Walter Camp Foundation.

Stanley — just a sophomore and in his first year of starting — threw 25 touchdowns and 6 interceptions this season. He amassed 2,338 yards through the air and earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors.

Welsh, who has started 48 games throughout his career as a Hawkeye, has spent time as both a guard and a tackle. He earned first team All-Big Ten honors this season, which is the third time he has been recognized at the end of the year.

Ward, who was the captain on special teams, played in all 12 games, made his first start at Northwestern and registered 9 tackles.

Other awards include:

Hayden Fry Award: Welsh, Jackson, Jewell and Ward

Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award: Jon Wisnieski

Reggie Roby Special Teams Award: Miguel Recinos and Tyler Kluver

Brett Greenwood Award: Boone Myers, Bo Bower and Ward

Comeback Player of the Year: Matt VandeBerg and Drake Kulick

Next Man In Award: Tristan Wirfs, Jake Gervase and Geno Stone

Coaches Appreciation Award: Stanley, James Butler, Nathan Bazata, Ben Niemann and Kluver

Team Hustle Award: Nick Easley, Parker Hesse, Miles Taylor and Amani Jones

Team Leader Award: Peyton Mansell, Kyle Groeneweg, Daniel Gaffey, Joe Ludwig and Jack Koerner

Player Appreciation Award: Will and Renee Moon

Bump Elliott Appreciation Award: Kim and Peter Harman

Distinguished Service Award: Russ Haynes

The Hawkeyes’ official post regarding all awards can be  found here.

The post Iowa announces team awards: Josey Jewell, Akrum Wadley named MVPs appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.