Clemson’s Dabo Swinney one of three finalists for AP Coach of the Year

Clemson Tigers head coach Dabo Swinney is one of three finalists for The Associated Press Coach of the Year award according to The Post and Courier. The other two finalists are UCF coach Scott Frost and Georgia coach Kirby Smart.

The winner of the award will be released on Monday.

Swinney is on an incredible run right now at Clemson. Over the last three years, the Tigers are 40-3. This season, Clemson won the ACC for a third straight year and will enter the playoffs at 12-1.

Colorado coach Mike MacIntyre won the award last season. In 2015, which was the beginning of Clemson’s incredible run, Swinney took home the honor. If Swinney wins the award again this year, he will join Nick Saban as only the second coach to win AP Coach of the Year twice. Saban won the honor with LSU in 2003 and in Alabama during the 2008 season.

Of course, Swinney faces stiff competition against Frost and Smart. Frost, who has already left UCF to become the head coach at Nebraska, led the Knights to an undefeated regular season. They will face Auburn in the Peach Bowl.

As for Smart, he helped Georgia win the SEC championship for the first time since 2005. Georgia is also in the playoffs and could potentially face Clemson in the national championship game.

The post Clemson’s Dabo Swinney one of three finalists for AP Coach of the Year appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.