Bill Bedenbaugh named 2017 Offensive Line Coach of the Year

Oklahoma’s Bill Bedenbaugh was named the FootballScoop Offensive Line Coach of the Year for 2017 on Tuesday.

Bedenbaugh coached an offensive line that included the Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year and AP All-American Orlando Brown. Eric Wren also made the All-Big 12 Team alongside Brown, while Ben Powers and Dru Samia made the second team and Bobby Evans was an honorable mention. Only one of those players, Wren, is a senior, meaning that Bedenbaugh is doing a fantastic job of developing linemen early on in their careers.

FootballScoop cited a laundry list of accomplishments in announcing Bedenbaugh as the award recipient.

“Bedenbaugh, who also serves as OU’s co-offensive coordinator, was hired away from West Virginia before the 2013 season and has since helped Oklahoma produce a 1,700-yard rusher, a season with two 1,000-yard rushers, a Heisman Trophy finalist at wide receiver and, now, a Heisman winner at quarterback — to go with three Big 12 championships and two College Football Playoff trips,” Zach Barnett wrote.

In 2017, Oklahoma has terrorized defenses with a powerful, balanced attack. Bedenbaugh’s offensive line protected the Heisman Trophy winner in Baker Mayfield and paved the way for breakout years from running backs Rodney Anderson (960 yards, 11 TDs, Second Team All-Big 12), Trey Sermon (710 yards, 5 TDs) and Abdul Adams (542 yards, 9.2 yards per carry).

Bedenbaugh was also a finalist for the Broyles Award, given to the best assistant coach in the nation.

The post Bill Bedenbaugh named 2017 Offensive Line Coach of the Year appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.