Baker Mayfield wins the 2017 Heisman Trophy

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is going to need a bigger trophy case.

After taking home the Walter Camp Award, Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award and Associated Press Player of the Year honors this week, Saturday night saw Mayfield awarded the 2017 Heisman Memorial Trophy.

To secure the prestigious award, Mayfield beat out Stanford running back Bryce Love and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, who won the award in 2016.

Mayfield is the first Oklahoma player to win the Heisman since Sam Bradford in 2008. He’s the sixth Sooner to win award, joining Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003), Billy Sims (1978), Steve Owens (1969), and Billy Vessels (1952).

With the 2017 regular season in the rearview, Mayfield has had one of the most efficient seasons in college football history. The Sooners’ senior gunslinger ranks No. 2 in the nation in passing yards and touchdowns with 4,340 and 41, respectively.

Mayfield’s 71 percent completion rate tops college football, as does his passer efficiency rating of 203.8, which is on pace to shatter the record he set in 2016. Mayfield also rushed for 310 yards and 5 touchdowns throughout his senior season.

He headlines an Oklahoma team that’s 12-1 on the heels of a Big 12 Championship and will play Georgia in a College Football Playoff semifinal.

With the Heisman in hand, Mayfield will lead the No. 2 Sooners against the No. 3 Bulldogs in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, 2018 with a trip to the College Football Playoff National Championship at stake.

The post Baker Mayfield wins the 2017 Heisman Trophy appeared first on Diehards.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.