Auburn basketball stays in AP Top 10 after Texas A&M loss, Georgia win

AUBURN, Ala. — Despite its first home loss of the season, Auburn basketball’s return to the top 10 of the Associated Press Top 25 poll will last for another week.

Auburn is ranked No. 10 in the latest AP Top 25 poll, which was released Monday. Bruce Pearl’s Tigers moved two spots down from last week, when they were No. 8 in the country.

Auburn was one of 15 teams in last week’s poll to lose — six of them occupying spots in the top 10. The Tigers dropped a one-point loss at home to Texas A&M, which moved back into the Top 25 at No. 21 on Monday. They bounced back with a double-digit road win at Georgia without leading scorer Bryce Brown.

MORE:  Justin Ferguson: Where I voted Auburn basketball in my AP Top 25 ballot

This is the first time Auburn has spent consecutive weeks in the top 10 of the AP poll since early February 2000.

Auburn will defend its ranking at home Wednesday night (9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT on ESPN2) against Kentucky, which has lost three straight games for the first time under John Calipari. The Tigers then hit the road to face struggling South Carolina on Saturday (3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT on SEC Network).

The post Auburn basketball stays in AP Top 10 after Texas A&M loss, Georgia win appeared first on SEC Country.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.

X